Erich Ermler Jnr.

Erich Ermler Jnr.

“Keep your eyes peeled,“ was granddad’s constant reminder. He was an honest businessman and a gentleman. He excelled at metal turning and had a real feel for engines. On the day I received my master craftsman certificate, he sat next to me in the new V-class, nudged me and said: “Erich, listen. This diesel engine is totally silent, there’s no knocking sound.“

I always knew that I would eventually take over our company. I grew up in my parents’ apartment, right above the showroom and workshop. When I accompanied my dad to meetings, I wore my best Mercedes-Benz shirt. Dad’s sense of fair play and courteous manner always impressed me.

As a 12-year-old, I was allowed to lend a hand. I wanted to learn everything a future business owner should know. Günter Gnadlinger taught me how to professionally clean cars. When I finally had my driver’s license with 17, I accompanied my cousin Mathias Lesnjakovic on transports. We were a great team that took care of the entire transport logistics, communication with customers, and their vehicles. During my time at the commercial academy, Gerald Beck assigned tasks to me. I learned to transfer cars from Mercedes-Benz plants in Germany to Austria – flights, logistics, administration, the whole lot.

My hobby then – cleaning cars and showcasing them – is still my hobby today.

On my first day at work, I replaced the right front ball joint in a golden E-class, something I had already learned as a youngster. The customer was puzzled, watched my every move and asked me whether I was new at the company. He was surprised to hear that my very first official task was backed by 20 years’ experience. He smiled when I introduced myself.

Under the watchful eye of my teachers Christian Szankovich, Markus Eder and my dad, I learned everything about our workshop. Neither of them went easy on me. If I rested just a while too long, I had to sweep the workshop floor for another hour – a lesson which my granddad had already taught Markus Eder.

Once I became master craftsman, I focused on commercial vehicle sales and got acquainted with every single aspect of our company. I worked in tandem with Christian Szankovich and briefly managed our body shop. I became a fully-fledged member of the Ermler team. Then and now, we share our knowledge and our passion for new experiences. Over the years, reliable colleagues became true friends and some of them even family members. The youngest of them grow up at Mercedes-Benz Ermler, just like I did.

Outside the usual business, many other experiences shape my life. When I was class and student council president at the commercial academy, I put my ambition and sense of fair play to good use for all. As honorary president of our soccer club and local Austrian Business Federation, I give something back, foster networking opportunities and help create new win-win situations.

Celebrating my master certificate with dad and granddad

Towing an aircraft for a good cause

The Ermler sales team

Erich Ermler Jnr.

Erich Ermler – die Story

Erich Ermler jun.

„Holzauge sei wachsam!“, hat Opa mir stets geraten. Er war einer der aufrichtigsten Geschäftsmänner, ein Gentleman und exzellenter Mechaniker mit feinem Gespür und Gehör: Eine Kugel drehte er mit links. An Weg zu meiner Meisterbrief-Verleihung in der neuen V-Klasse stupste er mich an und sagte: „Erich, hör genau hin. Dieser Diesel Motor ist ganz leise. Da hörst du kein Klopfen.“

Schon als Kind war für mich klar, dass ich einmal unsere Firma übernehmen würde. Mein Elternhaus war im ersten Stock und wenn mich Papa als 5-Jähriger zu Terminen mitnahm, trug ich mein schönstes Mercedes-Hemd. Seine Handschlagqualität und Zuvorkommenheit beeindruckten mich schon damals.

Als 12-Jähriger packte ich dann in der Firma mit an. Ich wollte mich zum Chef hocharbeiten und lernte so von Günter Gnadlinger Autos zu reinigen und aufzubereiten. Als 17-jähriger Führerscheinneuling begleitete ich an Nachmittagen meinen Cousin Mathias Lesnjakovic auf Transportfahren. Als eingespieltes Team kümmerten wir uns um die gesamte Organisation, Kommunikation mit Kunden und deren Fahrzeuge. Während der HAK-Zeit teilte mir dann Gerald Beck Aufgaben zu, z.B. Fahrzeuge von Mercedes-Benz Werksniederlassungen in Deutschland nach Österreich zu überstellen – Flüge und administrative Abwicklung inklusive.

Mein Hobby von damals – Fahrzeuge zu reinigen und repräsentativ zur Schau zu stellen – begeistert mich noch heute.

An meinem ersten Tag als Lehrling durfte ich das linke vordere Traggelenk einer goldenen E-Klasse austauschen. Autos reparierte ich ja bereits seit meiner Schulzeit. Der Kunde beobachtete mich und fragte mich ob ich hier neu wäre. Er war verblüfft zu erfahren, dass dies zwar mein erster Arbeitstag war, ich aber schon 20 Jahre Praxiserfahrung mitbringe. Er schmunzelte als ich mich vorstellte.

Unter den strengen Augen meiner Lehrmeister Christian Szankovich, Markus Eder und Papa durchlief ich sämtliche Werkstattbereiche. Verschont wurde ich nie. Ruhte ich mich während der Arbeit einmal zu lange aus, musste ich eine Stunde länger die Werkstatt zusammenkehren. Diese Lektion widerfuhr auch Markus Eder als mein Opa sein Lehrherr war.

Mit dem Meistertitel in der Tasche war ich im Nutzfahrzeug-Verkauf tätig, lernte alle anderen Stationen unserer Firma kennen, arbeitete Hand in Hand mit Christian Szankovich und leitete für einige Zeit die Spenglerei. Ich wurde zum Mitglied eines eingeschweißten Teams. Damals wie heute teilen wir unser Wissen und sammeln neue Erfahrungen. Aus verlässlichen Kollegen und Kolleginnen wurden über die Jahre treue Freunde und manche sogar zu Familienmitgliedern. Die jüngsten unter ihnen wachsen wie ich damals in der Firma auf.

Auch außerhalb von Mercedes-Benz Ermler ist mein Leben reich an Erfahrungen: Als Klassensprecher und Schulsprecher in der HAK lernte ich meinen Ehrgeiz und Sinn für Gerechtigkeit zum Wohle aller einzusetzen. Als ehrenamtlicher Obmann des Fußballvereines und Wirtschaftsbundes in Weiden gebe ich Gutes zurück, fördere Netzwerke und ermögliche neue Win-Win-Situationen.

Papa, Erich jun. und Opa feiern den Meisterbrief

Veranstaltung für den guten Zweck – Flugzeugziehen

Das Verkaufsteam von Firma Ermler

Erich Ermler jun.